top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan Round

Telling people about Jesus - the challenge to myself.

Over the past few weeks I've been really challenged by how difficult I find it to share my faith and what I believe in. Why should it be so hard for me to tell other people about the truth of Jesus which is the basis and very core of who I am?


I identify myself first and foremost as a follower of Jesus and his 'Way' - the way that he lived life and treated other people).


This comes before my identity as a man, as a husband, as a friend or family member. It comes before my job title because although that it what I spend the majority of my life doing, it is not that that rules of defines me.


It comes before anything else like hockey player, climber, cooker of food at parties, and even before my identity of gender, sexuality or social orientation. My political and social opinions are all just peripherals along with my views, standpoints or positions.


All of these things are attributes and could be used to describe me, yes, but the core of my being is my faith and the identity that Jesus gives me as a Christian - a follower and learner of (Christ) Jesus.

But if someone asked me about myself, why do I find it difficult to say that? I'd be more than ready to tell people that I'm newly married, what I do for a living, that I play sports in my spare time, that I enjoy cooking and hosting and spending time with my friends and family.


Why do I find it hard to tell people that I have the most incredible truth - I have a very real and tangible relationship with God who gives me my identity?


I wonder if it's because there seems to be some social stigma around talking about religion? It's a possibility - the saying goes that in a pub you can talk about anything except religion, politics or money.


Is it because I think that somehow my faith should be evident and shown through my actions and the way I treat people and conduct myself? There may be some truth in this, I do try to live differently, act differently and speak differently - the way that Jesus did, but I think I'm naïve to think that people will automatically connect the dots between something they might recognise as different about me and my faith in Jesus.


Is it because I'm embarrassed? I don't think so - but it's always a difficult subject and sometimes it's quite uncomfortable, some people get quite defensive or emotive, but that shouldn’t really be enough to stop me doing it.


I expect it's a mix of all three of those things.


I realise that it's slightly ironic that I'm sharing on a public blog my difficulty with sharing! What's more ironic is the fact that I would love to talk to people more about the subject that I find it hard to talk about!


I've challenged myself to open up about it more, to engage with people and be prepared with things to say. I believe that boldness and courage is something that we can ask God for, and that is my wish, the He would give me both of those things, because at the end of the day, that's all it takes!


I will happily make myself vulnerable and open to others because what I have to share is worth more than a lifetime of embarrassment. The truth that God is real, that He cares about you and me so much that He would reach towards us and give us hope and a way to live with Him at all times, is so incredible I feel guilty for keeping it to myself.


I'm called to proclaim my faith, and proclaim what God has done in my life, and the lives of the people I know, so lets do it.


If you're reading this and you know me, or we work together, or have chance to talk at all, this is your forewarning! Haha.


But also as I said, I want to talk about it; if you have questions, please ask! I might not be able to answer everything as my knowledge does have bounds, but I will do my best and take it away if I can't do it first time.


I guess the best thing that I can share is what Christians call a testimony - basically events in ones life that show God at work. Much like testifying in a court case, we can testify about our lives and what has happened!


God has helped me with so many things. And I will happily tell you about any of it. I've listed a few specific areas of my life that God has helped me with, and will help you with should you ask!

+ Sadness

+ Depression

+ Guilt

+ Loneliness

+ Hurt

+ Money

+ Relationships

+ Forgiveness

+ Anger

+ Self-worth

+ Addiction

+ Plus so many more…..


So this post is a bit of an internal dialogue, and I challenge myself to be more open, but I extend the challenge to anyone who is reading, ask me, or any other Christians you know, about the truth of Jesus and the promise of life to the full.


Give thanks to the Lord and proclaim his greatness. Let the whole world know what he has done. Sing to him; yes, sing his praises. Tell everyone about his wonderful deeds.

Psalm chapter 105 verses 1-2



81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page