top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan Round

The Bad Christian's Manifesto

Updated: Apr 7, 2021

Edit 07/04/21

Disclaimer - although I do not align my views with the author of this book, or his particular brand of theology, I do still believe that there is a lot to learn from his approach, and the change in my mindset and the thirst for more is still so relevant 2 years later. So, God had used the book in my life but since, I have come to realise there are several themes in it that I disagree with. So please tread carefully and with the proper discernment!


A while ago now out of the blue I picked up a book in a Waterstones in London, I hadn't planned to go in, I didn't plan to buy anything but something drew me to this book and so I picked it up, bought it and started to read. The book is called, 'The Bad Christian's Manifesto' by Dave Tomlinson, a follow up to another of his books called 'How to be a Bad Christian, and a Better Human Being'.


For a couple of years, I have been doing some serious self-examining with regard to my faith as a Christian; what I believe in, what my opinion in certain issues that Christians (the Church) are facing today and generally looking at the foundation of my faith.


Being a Christian is not always an easy ride. In some ways Christian belief goes against what society thinks is right and acceptable. Christianity is therefore counter-cultural, especially in the West where decades of Atheism and Gnosticism have worked their way into society providing the perhaps general beliefs that "if it feels good, it is good" and “science disproves God” or even, “Science removes the need for God”.


I've been looking critically at my faith for some time as I mentioned, searching deeper into subjects such as Homosexuality, Sexuality in general, The true meaning of Christianity, Sin, Science and faith and our identity as Humans (this can be a whole range of things from how we identify ourselves and how were are also identified by others.)


I've gained understanding in some areas, read deeper, grasped at various trains of thought and had a few times where I thought "yeah I've sort of got an opinion on this subject now." But I still have so many questions.


This is where things started getting very interesting.


I started reading this book. To my amazement, chapter after chapter was looking at these subjects and topics that have been whirring shapelessly around my head and was perfectly articulating the feelings, general discussion and opinion, taking the fragments in my head and putting them into tangible, written chapters of thought.


I was stunned.


It was like this guy knew exactly what I'd been thinking about the past couple of years and was trying to answer all the questions and doubts I still had in my mind.

I couldn't put it down.


At the same time as reading this book, my church was undertaking a church-wide series of reading, teaching and journaling around Transformation in 7 key areas; Physical Health, Spiritual Health, Mental Health, Relational Health, Financial Health, Vocational Health and Emotional Health.

In one of the weeks, the guy who created the course who's videos we were watching in smaller groups was talking about how we grow in knowledge and wisdom - he suggested reading books, magazines, publications and other bits around Christianity to grow in our understanding and therefore our relationship with God.


I have to say, the fact that we were studying a series about Transformation, and my sudden urge to start reading are not a coincidence, I believe God was nudging me, showing me that he had a lot to show and explain to me!


The result was the complete and utter transformation in my heart and mind of the way that I view God, the World, other people, my relationships, how I act and in what way. The first book I read was both affirming and challenging because I realised that in certain areas, I had fallen into a few traps in the way I was living my life. A thirst for more ensued, a need to discover what God wants for not only me but for all people.


I was writing notes on all this, trying to comprehend and get into words all that was going on in my head. My notes became these blogs! Again, I felt a bit nudged to share this new realisation and my transformation journey, and in the process, it may help other people to share in my enlightenment, or at the very least be encouraged by what I write.


Since that first book I've not been able to stop reading, I've awoken a hunger in my heart for knowledge and wisdom and better understanding of this amazing God that created us, loves us, and saves us from our self-destructive nature by offering a way back to Him through Jesus Christ.

The nature, life, purpose and person of Jesus is utterly mesmerising and a subject that will take years and years to grow in deeper understanding. Essentially that is what Christian life is about - growing in the knowledge and understanding of Jesus so that we can become more like him.


I’ve realised that I will always have questions, and the more I read and try to answer these questions, the more there will be. But actually, I think that’s kind of exciting!?


There is a humility in accepting that there is always more to learn and explore. We have to admit that we do not know everything, and we do not have things 100% sorted. The book touches slightly on this amongst many other misconceptions of church and Christianity that are widely felt by society today.


If you get a chance and if you have the inclination, have a read of this book, there is a link below to both World of Books, a second hand book market and for Amazon. It's not expensive, £7.00 new from Amazon.


It is so unbelievable easy to read - which was good for me, having not really read a full book for years! But the best thing about it, is that it's written without the use of some Christian jargon that is sometimes a bit difficult to understand, making is extremely accessible for Christians and Non-Christians alike. The format generally follows some anecdotal situations and then discussion on real-life experiences of Tomlinson the author, who is a vicar in North London who set up a church in a pub.


I guarantee you will take something from this book. It doesn't try to convert you, it doesn't shove belief or condemnation in your face, it is just simply one man's thoughts on how to be a better Human to other people.


It has changed me, a Christian of 12 years and having grown up in a Christian household, listening to the stories and teachings from a very young age. It has brought my faith, which I already knew was real and as work in my life, back into life, on fire, it has moved me to a journey of discovery and an overwhelming desire to learn more.


If it did that for me, it can do it for you.







63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page